FEB 16: PRESTON v MAN UTD BETTING PREVIEW

genericfootball

AFTER another weekend of FA Cup surprises I’m not sure how many people will rush to back Man United at Preston tonight.

Louis van Gaal’s side continue to split opinion – they sit third in the Premier League but haven’t won over many fans with their style of play.

A squad packed with superstars such as Robin van Persie, Angel di Maria, Radamal Falcao, Juan Mata and Wayne Rooney should be blowing most sides away.

But United drew 0-0 at Cambridge in the last round, struggled to break down the League Two men in the replay and then were outplayed by Burnley at Old Trafford in midweek despite winning 3-1 in the end.

Preston of course are much better than Cambridge but I’d liked to have seen them a bit bigger than 1-2 with BetVictor and others.

However, the Premier League side should get the job done with the prospect of an FA Cup win in van Gaal’s first season with Arsenal and Liverpool the only other highly-ranked survivors.

One possible bet is United to win by one at 29-10 with Ladbrokes. Preston are a biggest 13-2 with Paddy Power and the draw is 7-2 at McBookie and others.

Simon Grayson’s were struggling until upsetting the form book by knocking out Sheffield United in the previous round and the manager took the Old Trafford side’s scalp while in charge of Leeds six years ago.

Former Scotland striker Paul Gallagher has been a star of their campaign and is 4-1 at bet365 and Betfred to score.

Team news is vital but Van Persie is unlikely to lead the line due to an injury doubt. If he doesn’t start van Gaal is likely to go with Falcao and young James Wilson up top. Wilson’s a good finisher and a fine prospect and is 11-2 at bet365 to score first.

United have been slow starters in recent games away from home so time of first goal after 28 minutes at 6-5 with McBookie and BetVictor is worth a look.

Recommended Bets

United to win by one
(29-10, Ladbrokes)

Wilson to score first
(11-2, bet365)

Time of first goal after 28 mins
(6-5, BetVictor, McBookie)

39 Comments
  1. Danny T 2 years ago

    Mr f . Liverpool are still in fa cup also I would have added us as a high ranking survivor :-)

  2. Jordan 2 years ago

    Mr F have you watched us recently? You’re a brave man.

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Jordan, small bets at bigger odds – but I won’t be backing United at 1-2 as I said.

      • Jordan 2 years ago

        I know mate I just think we have 0% consistency at the moment and I’m actually scared for tomorrows game after West Ham and Burnley. Scraped results both times. I won’t be touching it but I wouldn’t shy anyone away from backing Preston DC.

        • Ad 2 years ago

          Jordan- always nice to read a fan’s pessimistic/realistic appraisal of his sides chances instead of blind comfidence. I think Preston could trouble you based on recent performances, but we shall see. I thought we would struggle against ‘Boro yesterday based on or displays against Sp*rs and Leicester but we completely outclassed them. First 20 mins are crucial tonight I think.

  3. AnOnYmoUS 2 years ago

    There is no way Man Utd will get beat today and infact I am confident that Man Utd go through with complete aplomb.

    Anyone who thinks Preston will win this needs there heads looking at.

    Disregard previous performances which means nothing.

  4. gg1a 2 years ago

    Agree jordan. But im gonna go for laying a bet . Hoping preston come out the blocks firing. Score the 1st goal that cambridge nearly done .then cash out .then consider backing man u at better price
    I.ll also be on over 2.5 goals

  5. Ramey 2 years ago

    Hold fire till 30 mins see which Man utd turn up

  6. abu bet 2 years ago

    Thinking of putting a quid on 0-0

  7. Alex 2 years ago

    United have been extremely poor away from home this season and not that spectacular at home although they can at least score goals there. Preston must have a chance to get a positive result and will have to make it an uncomfortable night for United by competing for absolutely everything. It is in front of the cameras and this will mean that Preston have two reasons to raise their game. It is the one element that can sometimes be overlooked when placing a bet, the determination and will to win of a team of players. Anyway the game will be one to watch for me and if I get on anything it will be inplay.

  8. Renwick 2 years ago

    RVP could be out injured

  9. nexus 2 years ago

    I think United will play a strong side tonight as their next game is not until saturday away at Swansea.Also they know they have a great chance of winning the FA cup with so many ‘big teams’ getting knocked out.
    Preston have goalkeeper Sam Johnstone and midfielder Daniel Johnson cup-tied.

    • Jordan 2 years ago

      Nexus we played basically full strength against Cambridge mate and they took us to a replay.

  10. Neil H 2 years ago

    Skybet enhanced odds is 5/2 for Man utd with and rooney anytime which seems decent bet to me.

  11. Wattie 2 years ago

    As a utd fan I’m not lookin forward to tonight’s game the way we’ve bin playing doesn’t inspire me at all think were in for a tough game n to b honest I wouldn’t b to disappointed with a draw how the mighty av fallen eh

  12. Wattie 2 years ago

    Rooney to score in a utd win @5/2 might b value depending on where he plays up front good odds midfield poor odds but does take pens which is a bonus but knowin van gaal he will prob start at centre back

  13. Jordan 2 years ago

    I just think we should ‘f’ the old legs off up top and give them a bit of Rooney and Wilson. The best England striker (some may argue) with a a good upcoming England striker who has shown his pace and finishing ability. Falcao seems to have a worse touch than a tug boat and he and RVP do not play as a partnership. Seen LVG has said we need to buy a creative midfielder in the summer. Hold on? January transfer window closed two weeks ago? Why the summer if you’re saying it now? Di Maria, Mata, Herrera, Blind, Carrick? How creative do you want to be Louis?

    • Alex 2 years ago

      Jordan- calm down mate best England striker pfffff 😉 Sturridge and Kane mate, Rooney is now a midfielder 😛

      • Jordan 2 years ago

        I knew somebody would mention Sturridge, Alex :) He’s good but after the World Cup performance I wouldn’t say he’s better than Rooney, for England anyway, and Harry Kane hasn’t even appeared so you can’t say that going by how he’s playing now haha

        • Alex 2 years ago

          Jordan-if memory serves me correctly I think they both scored a goal each. As for Kane he was for the “good up coming” category you threw Wilson into 😉 Still I think you are grasping at straws as Rooney is still a midfielder :)

          • Jordan 2 years ago

            Alex you can’t compare Sturridge and Rooney from one competition. Sturridge made his first I=international appearance in 2011 and has a total of 16 caps, Rooney 2003 with 101 caps, incomparable I’m afraid. Wilson three years younger than Kane and will still play for England at some point in his career so not sure what you’re getting at their.

            • Jordan 2 years ago

              End of the day you’re going to say Sturridge is better because you support Liverpool but he’s done nothing for England apart from scored against Italy.

              • Jordan 2 years ago

                Ok and a couple goals in the qualifiers. Neither of them are playing for United against Preston tonight so you’ve started something invalid. Rooney is and has been Englands best player for the last decade or so (though I suppose you’ll say Gerrard) Each to their own.

  14. Craig M 2 years ago

    3-1 North End 50/1

  15. Jordan 2 years ago

    Is that one head or heart Craig 😀

  16. nexus 2 years ago

    Alex ferguson is travelling on the united coach apparently.They still hate him in preston since he recalled 3 loan signings after Darren ferguson was sacked.

  17. Alex 2 years ago

    Jordan- everything you say I can throw back at you. Wilson not had a fraction of the impact that Kane has yet you say he will play for England. You said Wilson was an upcoming England striker and I said that Kane had a better shout at the moment that is all. I don’t think I am wrong. I would take Sturridge any day of the week but perhaps not over the Rooney that first broke on to the scene. Rooney in my book has firmly lost his way and is well over rated. He has gone missing in major tournaments as well. He has never been world class as he blows hot and cold i.e. far too inconsistent. By way of example where would he rank along side players such as Cantona, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Sparky, Ronaldo, Cole and those of previous generations? Not having a pop as it’s all about opinions mate.

  18. NB 2 years ago

    Deepdale will be buzzing tonight, first time they’ve been sold out for a long time and probs will be for some time!!! Preston double chance is the bet tonight!

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      NB, Preston may get a draw but I’m siding with United to edge it. I’ll tell you one thing though they won’t be playing for a replay – that’s the last thing big teams want.

  19. Rookie 2 years ago

    Man utd vulnerable at the back especially from set pieces. A preston defender anytime for me. paul huntington is not averse to finding the net and at 12/1 seems a fair bet To me

  20. NB 2 years ago

    Aye I can see your united to win by one tip coming in I’d United get the win!
    I expect garner to start aswell tonight, been on good form on return from his injury, carried on where he left off!

  21. Chris N 2 years ago

    Man Utd – 1 23/20 i’ll be on this

  22. NB 2 years ago

    Joe garner to score 3/1
    Btts 1/1
    Preston double chance 9/5

    Are my bets tonight!

  23. nexus 2 years ago

    PRESTON Stuckmann, Clarke, Huntington, Wright, Laird, Humphrey, Welsh, Kilkenny, Gallagher, K. Davies and Garner

    MAN UTD De Gea, Valencia, Smalling, Rojo, Shaw, Blind, Herrera, Rooney, Fellaini, Di Maria, Falcao.
    SUBS Valdes, Evans, McNair, Januzaj, Mata, Young, Wilson

  24. Jack 2 years ago

    I’m hoping he’s pushing Rooney upfront tonight with Herrera and fellaini to hold the midfield. Rooney brace, hopefully.

  25. Kyle B 2 years ago

    Looks like van gaal has pushed rooney upfront tonite as man united always opt for 2 up front in van gaals system

  26. skyfly 2 years ago

    Jack. Rooney with Falcao.
    Fellaini plays middle.

    Rednews info.

  27. Chris Guy 2 years ago

    TODAYS TIPS

    PRESTON VS MAN UTD

    Some big prices for tonight. With Chris Smalling scoring a double against Burnley last Wed I’ve no idea why he’s 40/1 for first goal and 14/1 anytime. I’m also having a punt on Daley Blind who is 33/1 for first goal and 12/1 anytime.

    RECOMMENDED BETS

    Chris Smalling First Goalscorer @ 40/1
    Daley Blind First Goalscorer @ 33/1
    Chris Smalling Anytime Goalscorer @ 14/1
    Daley Blind Anytime Goalscorer @ 12/1

    Good Luck everyone

Leave a reply

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

About MrFixitsTips  |  FAQs  |  Support  |  Contact Us  |  Gamble Aware  |  Privacy Policy  | Part of the Gambla Network ©2016 12th Man Media Ltd.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?