COPA AMERICA starts on Friday (12.30am) and as far as picking a winner goes it should be between Argentina and Brazil with hosts Chile trying to muscle in.

Uruguay are unlikely to mount a challenge without banned Luis Suarez – although they’re appealing to have him available – and while Colombia boast attacking stars such as Radamel Falcao, Jackson Martinez, Teo Gutierrez and Carlos Bacca their defence is too weak to go all the way.

I’d love to tip Chile to lift the trophy for the first time and while they have supreme talents such as Alexis Sanchez and Arturo Vidal I’m sticking with the favourites who have the one and only Lionel Messi.

Chile are 4-1 at Ladbrokes and bet365 and if I was backing them I’d do it each way because Argentina and Brazil are on course to meet in the semis. They tackle Ecuador in the opener and should kick off with a win.

They are a best 8-15 with BetVictor and others and I’m chancing them -1 AH at 39-40 with BetVictor and bet365. To score first Sanchez is my pick at 15-4 with BetVictor.

Argentina, 2-1 at Betfred and William Hill, amazingly haven’t won the trophy since 1993 but this could be their time.

Messi is the figurehead in a side packed with talent – Sergio Aguero, Carlos Tevez, Gonzalo Higuain, Ezequiel Lavezzi, Angel di Maria, Erik Lamela. The list goes on and on and in boss Gerardo Martino they have one of the best in the business.

Brazil flopped badly at their home World Cup and boss Dunga, under pressure for his side to make amends, is doing a job with a 100 per cent win rate since the 2014 finals.

But while they have Messi’s Barcelona team-mate Neymar they don’t have that many other superstars. They are second favourites at 7-2 with Coral but it’s too short for me.

Neymar could nab the top-scorer prize though with Argentina set to share the goals around and the Brazilian is bet365’s 13-2 second favourite behind Messi who is 7-2 at Paddy Power.

Colombia could provide Chile’s opposition in the semis with Jose Pekerman’s side being handed a kind draw.

If I get a chance I’ll add some group betting and look at other markets but for the best preview of the tournament check out We Love Betting.

Recommended outrights

(2-1, Betfred, William Hill)

Chile ew
(4-1, Ladbrokes, bet365)

Neymar top scorer
(13-2, bet365)

  1. nathan ufton 1 year ago

    I like the thought of argentina to lift the trophy and Neymar as outright top scorer. I saw Brazil tonight against an average Honduras side and they were average at the back, average in the middle and average up front. When Neymar came on at halftime already 1 up, he offered a little more to their attack but rarely made anything remotely dangerous. Neymar is Brazil’s out and out goal threat and Dunga has already started rebuilding the side around Neymar. Brazil want wins at any cost and after their 7-1 humiliation less than 12 months ago, they have won all their games, but they have hardly played top 10 fifa rated teams. I guess its about building momentum for them.

  2. craigyboy 1 year ago

    Gutted this is no longer on Sky Sports. Used to love getting up at silly o clock to watch Venezuela v Bolivia.

  3. windy 1 year ago

    Liking the following bets based on teams attacking options against very average opposition.

    Uruguay over 1.5 team goals vs Jamaica

    Argentina over 1.5 team goals vs Paraguay

    Chile over 1.5 team goals vs Ecuador

    Columbia over 1.5 yeam goals vs Venezuela

    They should all be looking to kick off thereirampaign with a convincing win.

    Odds 5/1

    • Wolverine 1 year ago

      Windy, I really like the look of this bet but I have added Brazil over 1.5 T.G.’s as well, that takes it to 11/2.

      Good luck

  4. Alves 1 year ago

    Chile v Ecuador 00.30 KO

    Over 10.0 asian corners 1.950
    Over 4.5 ht asian corners 1.800
    Chile RT7
    Chile RT9 – small stakes

  5. Jordan 1 year ago

    Have to be taking the free £5 bet offer @ Co-ral every time your top goalscorer scores. ‘Simply place a pre-tournament £20+ Win Single bet on the top goalscorer market for the 2015 Copa America and for every goal your player scores in the tournament, we will give you a £5 free football bet’. Even extra time goals count (but not penalties)

    I’ll be on Messi @ 3/1 & Neymar @ 5/1. Will probably make your money back.

  6. Will Hill 1 year ago

    As mentioned before Coral and Betfair are offering a £5 free bet everytime your player scores. I’m on.

    Aguero 8/1 Coral

    Firmino 20/1 Coral

    Neymar 13/2 bet365


    Argentina/Colombia 9/1 Ladbrokes, Boylesports.

    Chile/Colombia 28/1 ladbrokes

    Pending on how the group games pan out then they could meet in semi-finals. Remember this tournament has history of upsets with the big two countries not doing too well in previous years. The biggest factor is the weather.
    Chile and Argentina are currently having their winter season and this can play a big hand.

    Colombia and Argentina have the best squads and this will show at the final stages.

    Good luck everyone and enjoy good football with a nice return….

  7. windy 1 year ago

    Cheers Wolverine.
    After Brazil’s last game i’m leaving them out, but good luck and fingers crossed.

  8. nightowl 1 year ago

    I’m dreadful at top scorer bets and I don’t know loads about South American footy but these caught my eye. We all know about Aguero, Bacca has just had a stonking season for Sevilla and Rodriguez won the golden boot at the World Cup.

    Aguero 8/1
    Bacca 14/1 e/w
    James Rodriguez 25/1 e/w

  9. Re 1 year ago

    Craigboy i was told all week in work its SkySports and you have just gutted me. 😉
    Told em there’s been no adverts!
    In the now so please tell me its on ITV and BBC the lol 😉
    On lates next week so it would have been perfect. :(

  10. tomekplnd 1 year ago

    The Betfair promotion states that they will credit the free bet every match the player scores. Does that mean that even if Messi for example scores 2 in a match, only one free bet will be credited?

  11. Alan 1 year ago

    chile v ecuador

    sanchez anytime scorer

  12. Zac Efron 1 year ago

    Argentine/Chile FINAL

    3/1 – Great price!

  13. Punting For Fun 1 year ago

    Corner before 9 mins chile v ecuador 5/6 bet365

    Chile will want to start this tourney as hosts with a bang and hopefully this means a corner early doors.

  14. rick 1 year ago

    Argentina to win copa
    Germany u 21 to win tournament


  15. Harry 1 year ago

    If anyone still fancies a Copa America group bet but has missed most of the decent prices, I’ve just put another 5 points on as the price was much bigger than everywhere else. The next best price for this is 5/6 which is quite a big difference. I don’t know how long this price will stay there for as it seems very big

    Copa America group betting

    Dual forecast group B & C


    5PTS 13/10 Sportingbet

Leave a reply


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


About MrFixitsTips  |  FAQs  |  Support  |  Contact Us  |  Gamble Aware  |  Privacy Policy  | Part of the Gambla Network ©2016 12th Man Media Ltd.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?