JOHNB loves the Derby and he’s put together an early preview of the big race at Epsom on Saturday.

As we know he’s tipped Golden Horn at 33-1 weeks ago and here’s his rundown of the big race.

The Main Contenders

Aiden O’Brien has won the Derby five times with GALILEO, HIGH CHAPARRAL, CAMELOT, RULER OF THE WORLD & AUSTRALIA.

The main O’Brien Derby horses before this season started have all gone and he is now relying on horses that where never really thought about but that’s what happens in racing as a top-class two-year-old doesn’t guarantee a top-class three-year-old O’Brien runners this year are:

Won the Lingfield Derby trial but the fact is a major improvement is needed for him to even place let alone win as that race was pretty ordinary form.

Probably regarded by many as the main hope for O’Brien but his last run at the Curragh was poor and obviously needs a big step up on form to trouble the main fancies.

Looking at previous form this is another horse that needs some serious improvement to win. Has won over 1m 4f but that last run at Chester just isn’t good enough yet that was his best form yet but I wouldn’t be surprised if Storm The Stars reversed the Chester form.

I really can’t see which one of those O’Brien horses could place. Other horses we have are.

If we are going to get an outsider placing then this could be the one as he is improving with every run and did stay 1m 4f when second to Hans Holbein. Storm The Stars was also second to Golden Horn beaten a head over a mile as a two-year-old.

But the main form for the Derby has to be the Dante.

This horse was third in the Dante but was more experienced than the two in front of him and still couldn’t take advantage of that which suggests he won’t be able to do it in the Derby. Also no horse has reversed the Dante placings to win the Derby.

Now it’s down to the John Gosden pair.

This horse last time took the step up in company when running in the Dante and second to Golden Horn but beaten just under three lengths. The worrying part was how he was hanging which is not a good sign for a course like Epsom and again no horse has reversed the Dante placings to win the Derby.

MY 33-1 antepost pick, this horse has stormed his way to the top of the betting and is now 7-4 favourite. The owners have stumped up the £75,000 to get him in the race even though the owner doesn’t think he will stay the distance.
would he really pay £75,000 to supliment a horse he thought couldn’t win?
Golden Horn has every attribute to win the Derby. He can switch off when running which is a major plus as he can conserve energy for the finish.
He is also well balanced which means he will handle the undulating track and in my mind is a worthy favourite.

Top 3




Oaks tip

Jazzi Top 14-1
(William Hill, Paddy Power)

  1. Nick 1 year ago

    Johnb, do you have any fancy in the Oaks?

    I like the look of Crystal Zyveda myself.


  2. Charlie chalk 1 year ago

    Been tipped zawraq two months ago, although I know a lot has changed, but do think it’s pretty strange how money has come for it and its unknown. Golden horn is to short now so I’m going with zawraq.

    Together forever in the oaks is a horse Iv followed and has made me a lot of money, so will stick with him. Think he’s pretty unexposed and is o Brian’s main effort for this.

  3. johnb 1 year ago

    Antipost Tip

    Epsom Downs Friday June 5

    The Oaks

    JAZZI TOP 14/1 Paddy Power William Hill Boylesports

  4. bad jasper 1 year ago

    Can Birdman really lose to these.
    This is a former group NAg who went off the rails and has been brought back to life by new trainer.
    He is effectively running on even terms against average handicappers. 100-30 now and drifting, not a nap as ground is against but just my opinion

    • bad jasper 1 year ago

      Birdman, Lose it did, glad I didn’t NAP it.

      Elm park and Hans Holstein to place in the derby

  5. johnb 1 year ago



    Connections of Zawraq have warned the colt is not certain to line up in Saturday’s Investec Derby after suffering an injury scare on Tuesday morning.

    The Dermot Weld-trained runner is among the leading fancies for the Epsom showpiece but after completing a satisfactory piece of work, he was found to be slightly lame on his return to the yard.

    “He did a bit of work this morning with Pat Smullen up, he did it fine and walked back to the yard OK but when the head lad came back into his box, he just thought he took a lame step,” said Angus Gold, racing manager to owner Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum .

    Zawraq is prominent in the Derby ante-post lists after impressively winning his two starts to date.

    Gold said: “He did his work fine, had a pick of grass back at the yard, but they just felt he wasn’t 100 per cent when they trotted him up.

    “He has been taken to the vets for an X-ray and scans and they came back fine, they didn’t show up anything apart from a small mark on the inside of his near-fore cannon bone, so hopefully he has just given himself a knock.

    “He’s being iced and hopefully he’s just given himself a bang, but we will obviously know more over the next 36 hours or so.

    “It was his final piece of work so he’s done everything he needs to do and is a fit horse.

    “We are hoping to get him to the Derby but we just wanted to make everyone aware of what has happened.

    “We’ll see if anything comes to light in the next 36 hours.”

  6. dougiec 1 year ago

    Not much time today,but Knight Batchelor owes me a turn 7.35 Southwell and hope its not Burnt fingers with Greatrexs other runner in the 8.05

  7. double carpet 1 year ago

    Ryan Moore riding Giovanni Canaletto. That will be my ew pick

  8. Nick 1 year ago

    Cheers Johnb, any write up for Jazz top? 14/1 good price.

  9. Duncan Poundcake 1 year ago

    Both Gosden horses now too short for me .
    Gotta go with DC ,Cometh the Day ,Cometh the main man.(or men)!
    Already have 14/1 and 10/1 Jack Naylor for the Oaks. GL All.

  10. double carpet 1 year ago

    ive been reading an article on the derby and its based on Dosage Index. To be perfectly honest never heard of it and after reading it the first time i was still none the wiser. But after reading it a few times its beginning to make some sence to me. Its obviously purely based on breeding alone and am just wondering if you have ever used this kind of format before or would you recommend it as a guide.

  11. GAZ B 1 year ago

    ANYONE else get the 33/1?? sods
    Law I missed talk of it until last week ,

  12. johnb 1 year ago

    Double Carpet i have used the dosage index but i dont jusg rely on that as i can tell by myself what a horse likes or what distance it could get just by looking at a horse run which is why i am certain Golden Horn will stay the Derby distance

  13. double carpet 1 year ago

    Thanks for that.

  14. OriaZ 1 year ago


    Regarding your stakes on the Top 3, are you putting 1 point on each? or do you divide it differently?

  15. johnb 1 year ago

    OriaZ i was only saying what i thought the first three would be incase anyone fancied a forecast or tricast
    only advised one to back to win and that was Golden Horn but a bit short now

  16. OriaZ 1 year ago

    Ok thanks for clearing that up :)

  17. Stephen Head 1 year ago

    The Derby.
    Agree with john B,s comment,s above.
    7 out of the last 10 years, the sire has been either Gallileo or Montijeu. so agree Givanni canaletto and Hans Holbein.
    One to note in Gleneagles race at Newmarket on the 2nd of May is Moheet.
    The write up of that race for Moheet is below.
    Raced stand,s side, awkward leaving stalls, rider lost iron early, held in rear, switched left and effort over 2f out, switched back sharply right and cannoned into rival over 1f out ,stayed on final furlong, never troubled leaders, 6th of 10 in group (jockey said he lost an iron leaving stalls) (jockey received three-day ban: careless riding May17-19)
    btn 7 and three quarter lenghts.
    At 40-1 not a bad each way price!

  18. johnb 1 year ago


    John Gosden would be “concerned” for Jack Hobbs if the ground at Epsom continues to quicken in the build-up to the Investec Derby on Saturday.

    The Clarehaven handler will walk the track on Saturday morning to assess whether the colt should be risked if the forecast thundery showers fail to materialise.

    Whereas stablemate and ante-post favourite Golden Horn would not be knocked off his stride on a brisk surface, Gosden would ideally like a little ease in the ground for Jack Hobbs, who will run for the first time in Godolphin’s blue silks.

    The Clarehaven handler told “The race is at 4.30pm, and if it is sunny and breezy I would be concerned. I will walk the track beforehand.

    “Godolphin and the other partners are aware that I will be doing that.

    “Jack Hobbs is a grand, scopey, rangy individual, who should improve with age. The Derby comes soon enough for him.

    “He is a talented individual, who I hope will be racing at four and five.

    “I think he learnt a lot at Epsom at Breakfast With The Stars and I was very happy with his work at the weekend.”

    Andrew Balding is in a similar position with Elm Park, who missed the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket earlier in the season because the ground was too fast.

    The Kingsclere handler said: “It sounds like they (thunderstorms) are going to be localised so let’s hope we’re lucky and that some of them hit Epsom.

    “He’ll run, but I’d obviously be a little bit more apprehensive running him (on fast ground).

    “I’m sure it will be safe ground. There’s not a lot I can do. It’s just que sera sera.

    “I’m sure whatever happens he’ll run a decent race.”

    The official going at Epsom on Thursday evening was good.

    Zawraq was the significant omission from Monday’s Derby confirmation stage after 12 horses were declared, but Ireland still has a strong hand after Aidan O’Brien declared Giovanni Canaletto (Ryan Moore), Hans Holbein (Seamie Heffernan) and Kilimanjaro ( Joseph O’Brien) .

    R ank outsider Carbon Dating and Success Days also make the journey across the Irish Sea.

    The latter has slightly slipped under the radar for the Classic, despite having won two of Ireland’s big spring Derby trials for trainer Ken Condon.

    Jockey Shane Foley feels his partner is made of the right stuff to handle Epsom.

    He told At The Races: “His temperament is very good. He’s a very laid-back horse and only does what he has to.

    “He seems to jump and travel in his races.

    “We all know he’s been running on different ground. He’s very good on slow ground, but he has won on good ground, so we’re very hopeful.

    “I think the trip will be no bother to him. I’ve made plenty of use of him over 10 furlongs.

    “He’ll be able to jump and hold a position and hopefully be there if he’s good enough a furlong out.”

    Rogue Runner, Epicuris, Moheet and Storm The Stars complete the final field.

  19. Big Bopper 1 year ago

    I think Golden Horn will give Frankie Dettori his 2nd Derby win. I can see him cruising into the lead at the 2 furlong marker and stretching clear to win by 2 or 3 lengths. I will be investing heavily. Just wish i’d got him at 33/1.

  20. Dee 1 year ago

    Just seen coral enhanced treble – GOLDEN HORN,WILLIAMS & BARCELONA ALL TO WIN 5/1….. What do think guys???

  21. Dontblameme 1 year ago

    Dee Barcelona won’t win only one ide back is Williams there

  22. Danny 1 year ago

    13:55 DONCASTER Mermaid @ 10/1

    15:25 MUSSELBURGH Yorkidding NB @ 11/4

    15:40 DONCASTER Subcontinent @ 11/4

    15:45 EPSOM Normal Equilibrium NAP @ 16/1

    I did £1 lucky 15 and £2.5 acc EW plus £5 singles total bet of £40.

  23. AGD 1 year ago

    That’s why John B the tipster on this page 33/1 advise

  24. Duncan Poundcake 1 year ago

    Déjà vu ,brilliant Johnb.

  25. Spurdog 1 year ago

    Wow! What a prediction with respect to the forecast. You never cease to amaze me Johnb.

  26. smokeit34 1 year ago


    Couldn’t see past Golden Horn, if only I had done the tricast!

    Hope some did!

    HGappy days :)

  27. Kristopher 1 year ago

    Wow!!! Wish id have seen your tricast earlier…great tipping!!

  28. James C 1 year ago

    Not only a 33/1 antepost winning tip, also, on the day a £79.95 tricast, MAGNIFICENT johnb!!!

  29. johnb 1 year ago

    Thanks everyone its appreciated

  30. AndytheHun 1 year ago

    John B..You are a legend man!!What amazing tricast.Thanks!!;)

  31. barry67 1 year ago

    Well done johnb shame i wasnt on it forgot all about the derby today

Leave a reply


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


About MrFixitsTips  |  FAQs  |  Support  |  Contact Us  |  Gamble Aware  |  Privacy Policy  | Part of the Gambla Network ©2016 12th Man Media Ltd.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?