JAN 16: RANGERS v HEARTS BETTING PREVIEW

rangersvpsv

THERE has possibly been more said about tonight’s Rangers v Hearts game on the site than any previously.

The chat started even before the prices were revealed and of course the odds took many by surprise with unbeaten Championship leaders Hearts prices big at 13-5.

There were two reasons for this: 1. Rangers are still a big name and outside Scotland many people will back them blindly and 2. Odds compilers don’t know how poorly Rangers are playing despite winning their last two matches.

Not many who have been watching Scottish football will come to the conclusion Rangers are better than the Tynecastle men – even Rangers fans I know moan about the lack of pace and stylee in the team and Hearts have that in plenty.

As we know Hearts have been hammered since odds were revealed on Monday and biggest price now is 9-5 with William Hill and it’s still worth taking – but if you want to play it safer Jambos draw no bet is 11-10 with Paddy Power.

Rangers are a best 31-20 with McBookie and some of their most diehard fans will jump at that offer. It’s a price they won’t have seen in the league since the last time they faced Celtic.

It’s also worth pointing out fans’ groups are planning a protest outside Ibrox at 7pm and are urging Rangers supporters not to enter the ground after the latest revelations about Mike Ashley and his proposal to gain security over Ibrox with a £10million loan.

The off-field situation has just got a lot worse and surely will have an adverse effect on the Glasgow side.

Hearts have already beaten Gers twice in the league this season – as have Hibs – and the signing of striker Genero Zeefuik allows Robbie Neilson to return to his favoured 4-4-2 set-up.

Since being humbled 4-0 at Easter Road a couple of weeks ago Kenny McDowall’s men have scrambled wins against Dumbarton and Alloa but all is not well.

The only doubt in my mind is Hearts – with a 13-point lead at the top – see a draw as a good result but that doesn’t seem to be the way they are thinking when you look at the pre-match build-up. Also it’s always difficult backing against Rangers or Celtic because they can triumph in adversity.

However , I like the look of Hearts and I’m even happy to do a small stake on Hearts minus one at 5-1 with William Hill – and I’m sure that price will shorten before kick-off.

Zeefuik, who hit a double at Dumbarton on his debut, is 7-1 at McBookie to score first with top scorer James Keatings the same price at boylesports.

With strike stars Kris Boyd and Kenny Miller continuing to struggle Nicky Law remains Rangers’ biggest threat and is 11-1 at bet365.

It was fiery in the last two meeting with two reds – and there could have been more. I expect plenty of cards and a possible sending-off with the plenty of mud-slinging in the build-up. When I find a red-card price I’ll add it.

And remember if you live in Scotland to check out the inplay offer from McBookie.

Recommended Bets

Hearts
(9-5, William Hill)

Hearts -1
(5-1, William Hill)

Zeefuik to score first
(7-1, McBookie)

76 Comments
  1. bad jasper 2 years ago

    I saw zeefuick in the highlights last week.
    He makes akinfenwa of afc Wimbledon look thin.
    Will probably score tonight and make me eat humble pie, unless he gets to it first.
    SCORE DRAW for me, will suit both teams.

  2. Duncan Poundcake 2 years ago

    McBookie £25 in play free bet ,much the same as 365s,read the t&c,s
    Scottish residents only,like the cards angle GL.

  3. raaljaca 2 years ago

    There were two reasons for this: 1. Rangers are still a big name and outside Scotland many people will back them blindly and 2. Odds compilers don’t know how poorly Rangers are playing despite winning their last two matches.

    Loved this paragraph Mr F!! If only people had listened preseason and taken off the blue tinted glasses they would be sitting on some brilliant Antepost Hearts bets as I advised!!! Cannot wait for this match with the added bonus of the Rangers fan organising a pitch invasion as well, we look forward to seeing it :)

    • Flash 2 years ago

      I bottled it and should have listened to your post. Regretting it big time now

  4. top tip terry 2 years ago

    Im on the hearts gravy train£££-1 (4/1)&hearts win 17/10) think if its a hearts winner your site might crash lol..Come on you Hearts..:-D

  5. Alva glen 2 years ago

    Zeefuick is as slow as a good pot roast don’t see him as any big threat.Rangers fans should do their protesting after the game and get behind the players they need you more than ever.Back to Hearts ok for sure results are written in stone. To me they have been lucky v Hibs 3 games.The 1st game v RANGERS At Ibrox was a scrappy affair and the Tynecastle game Rangers were in control until the sending off.Finally a draw is no good to Rangers they will have to attack from the word go.I will be on the above rec bets but not the goal scorer one. Red card Paterson Hearts.

  6. raaljaca 2 years ago

    2 draws and a win against a Hibs side who have humped Rangers 4-0 and 3-1!!

  7. Sean Ireland 2 years ago

    You have convinced me Mr F,im doing Hearts to win,Cheers 😉

  8. jimba 2 years ago

    Raal, good luck tonight, i agree with you bookies have called this wrong, they’ll be a closer tittle race in the prem league with celtic and aberdeen!!

  9. raaljaca 2 years ago

    Cheers jimba mate, try these 2 for an interest.

    RANGERS V HEARTS

    CALLUM PATERSON ANYTIME GOALSCORER 13/2 (Betfred)

    I think there is a distinct possibility we will start with Paterson up front and Keatings on the bench. Worth a couple of pounds at these odds. I see Zeefuik and Paterson playing forward and also McGhee starting in place of Keatings. If this formation happens then we are playing to contain them and going there to avoid defeat but we can still win this game.

    PENALTY AWARDED IN MATCH 11/4 (William Hill, Paddy Power)

    Hearts pace and Rangers at home both equate to a penalty being given. It does not need to be scored only awarded.

  10. Ian Menzies 2 years ago

    Personally (and without my blue tinted glasses on), I think this game will be played on the park as fiercely as an old firm game. This means that all form will go out the window and whoever wants it more on the day will win.

    In summary, don’t stick your full bankroll on any bet in this game, small stakes only.

    • Flash 2 years ago

      Too late Ian, the mortgage is on

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Ian, I think Hearts will win but no matter how strongly I feel it will be level stakes. I agree it should be fiercely fought but if Hearts score first they should be OK.

      • robert miller 2 years ago

        perfect summing up Ian…as any guy who competes in sport will tell you from his own highs and lows….its all about ” who catches it on the night”….. hope its a cracker and above all the wind stays away…..

  11. Flash 2 years ago

    Raaljaca, how big a stake would you be putting on this game today, Rangers v Hearts? 1pt = £100

    • raaljaca 2 years ago

      Only what you can afford mate. Always assume a bet will lose so whatever you have staked you can afford to be without and anything else is a bonus.

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Flash, just back from walking the dug in the snow. As has been said don’t ask people what they stake – it’s irrelevant. Bet what you can afford to lose and don’t lump pn anything – even Hearts.

  12. alasu57 2 years ago

    Bugs the arse off me when ppl ask how much should I stake? Ffs, you know how your finances are, make your own mind up !!!!!!

  13. hudmystar 2 years ago

    Alasu57 true say that!

  14. Alex Walker 2 years ago

    A daft tenner on hertz to win 3-1 at 22-1. After what i watched at easter rd at crimbo there is nothing down the M8 to fear.

  15. Harpreet 2 years ago

    RAAL & Mr Fix It

    I’m on HEARTS DOUBLE CHANCE HIGH STAKE !!! Come on HEARTS

  16. Sean 2 years ago

    Get the hard hat on the dug Mr F,there could be much wailing and gnashing of teeth this evening if your BANKER down the sh*tter.

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Sean, Hearts are not a “banker”. I’ve never said they were and I don’t use that term. As far as I’m concerned they’re just another Super Single – level stakes advised as usual. As yet I haven’t gone round the houses forcing people to back them either.

  17. el tel 2 years ago

    Raal no pressure mate , but seems everybody on your beloved hearts . Im on late shift so cant watch but sure going to be a fun night.
    Hate to imagine the shit u gonna get if Rangers actually put in a performance for once. Personally don’t think they will, the players probably be glad when season over and get out of the Circus.
    Its becoming a joke with what’s happening there.
    Funny enough that seems to follow Ashley ( Newcastle hahaaaa)

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      el tel, if Rangers get a point I’ll be first to say well done. Bookies tell me there’s plenty of money going on Rangers too.

    • raaljaca 2 years ago

      el tel I would not be in the least worried if we lost tonight as we will still win the league and I have a significant amount riding on that, what tonight is about is the fact we are way overpriced and have to be worth backing as such. Mr F saw this beginning of the week as well and some of the prices are ridiculous. No team can ever go to Parkhead or Ibrox and be certain of winning as there are many many daft decisions that will go against you but tonights referee Bobby Madden is one of the best at present and hopefully he will be fair. The last game at Tynecastle we were kicked off the park and although we won the refereeing was horrendous.

  18. maxi 2 years ago

    i got 7/4 hearts single an done a dbl with the rocket at evens …..good little earner ,,,i am a lifelong rangers fan and we are absolutely shambolic hearts minus 1 might go for l8tr lump on as much as it pains me to say

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      maxi, I know loads of Rangers fans and none are confident tonight. I hope people see these tips as normal tips – there’s certainly no bias from me. I’m going on what I’ve seen from both teams on the TV recently.

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      maxi, I know loads of Rangers fans and none are confident tonight. I hope people see these tips as normal tips – there’s certainly no bias from me. I’m going on what I’ve seen from both teams on the TV recently.

  19. el tel 2 years ago

    Mate you already won league thats for sure. The odds are very nice indeed, in holland I got them at 2.6 .
    Personally think you will win . Right good luck . Time start work pffff

  20. raaljaca 2 years ago

    16 Jan 2015 – Rangers v Hearts – Correct Score
    Hearts 5-1 @ 150/1
    Stake : £10.00

  21. Alex 2 years ago

    Mr F and Raal, I thought this was a sure “banker” after your respective write ups! I was so convinced that I backed Hearts with not one but two mortgages, any idea on how I can cover? Some good auld fashion dodgy food for the Rangers players perhaps?!

    • raaljaca 2 years ago

      Alex, we are the better side and I expect us to win mate but Glasgow is never easy. Your mortgages are safe 😉

      • Alex 2 years ago

        Raal-Since you put it like that I could ask for a further advance 😉 Very rarely do I come out and say a team will win 100% but I do believe Hearts will win tonight. I didn’t have the same feeling when Hibs strolled into town but did have it when Hearts played QOS away if you recall. I also had it when Mr F tipped QOS DNB against Rangers and when I took Hibs DC v Rangers. Not as strong mind you that feeling for tonight mate but enough to risk a bet. Have fun! Predited scores 1-2, 2-2 and 1-3.

  22. cazzo 2 years ago

    There are going to be a lot of sore heads and empty pockets if hearts dont win tonite,done the over 2.5 and double chance hearts. GOOD LUCK

  23. Stevie H 2 years ago

    As a Rangers fan I am clinging on to the fact that I hope the Hearts team that played in the 1st half of the last Edinburgh Derby turn up, they were as bad as ive seen them in a while however we are like that every week. I think theres more to loose for Rangers and as a fan I was always back/support them, no doubt il eat my words giving how our season has gone but I do believe we have alot of decent players in the team enough to edge it….they just need to stand up and be counted for.

  24. Black&red14 2 years ago

    Hearts over 4 [email protected]/5, betvictor good luck if your having a bet!

  25. Alex Walker 2 years ago

    For the life of me i cant believe that rangers are favs for tonites game. They got hammered against hibs and by all accounts have not played well against dumbarton or alloa. If hearts turn up tonite there will only be 1 winner. Put them to the sword hearts. 3-1 to the hertz.

  26. malcolm caithness 2 years ago

    Rangers 1-0 win going to game so can’t go backing against my own team

    ps best team I’ve saw at Ibrox this season has been Hibs

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      malky, I know you can’t back against your team – but will you put hard cash on them?

  27. NUFC4EVA 2 years ago

    What channel is the hearts rangers match? Never wanted to watch a scottish game in my life haha

  28. malcolm caithness 2 years ago

    BT Sports 1

  29. Craig k 2 years ago

    Just drove by ibrox stadium there, just had some snow there but it’s stopped now so hopefully there’s no risk of tonight’s game going ahead!

  30. Carlitos 2 years ago

    Along with everyone else on this site I b with Hearts on this one. I do however see Rangers nicking a goal.

    Hearts + BTTS – 9/2 Bet365

  31. Flash 2 years ago

    Sorry Mr F it was not meant to be a question about exact amount but rather how confident an individual is. I would always rate what Raaljaca says

  32. Clarky 2 years ago

    Now is the time for the teddy bears to stand up and be counted,this is why I think Rangers will win tonight.hearts don’t need to win Rangers do,as long as blacks not in the starting line up then it’s Rangers all the way.

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Clarky, Hearts don’t need win – but they’ll want it just as badly. Also they’ll want to preserve their unbeaten run. Two hours to go and we’ll see which camp has called it correctly.

  33. Daz 2 years ago

    C’mon hearts ,took raals advice preseason ,looking forward to bashing those bookies

  34. Craig Don 2 years ago

    McBookie doing the ‘B365 Free Bet’ Stake 25 notes and get a free 25 notes bet, risk free. Go over 0.5 then maybe Hearts -1 at 6/1 with your free bet?

  35. Greg Browning 2 years ago

    Hearts over 3.5 team corners 8/11

  36. Clarky 2 years ago

    7 o,clock pitch inspection snow is very heavy at Ibrox.

  37. RonnieMc 2 years ago

    Callum Paterson playing up front tonight for Hearts – he’s 16/1 first goal and 9/2 anytime. Get on it!

  38. AL 2 years ago

    Pitch passed the inspection and game is on at Ibrox

    RANGERS: Simonsen; Foster, McCulloch, McGregor, Wallace; Aird, Hutton, Law, Smith, Miller, Daly

    SUBS: Robinson, Black, Faure, Shiels, Clark, Templeton, Boyd

    HEARTS: Alexander, Paterson, Wilson, Ozturk, Gomis, Walker, Nicholson, Buaben, Zeefuik, McGhee, Eckerskley.

    SUBS: Gallacher, McKay, Pallardo, Holt, King, Sow, Keatings.

  39. Davie-S 2 years ago

    The wet heavy pitch a bit of an equaliser, can see a long high ball game by rangers esp with Daly up front, low scoring game me thinks… Evens U 2.5 match goals @ B365

  40. Big will 2 years ago

    Boys Patterson is 16/1 first goal with coral . He is up front

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Big will, raaljaca told us this morning he’d up front and tipped Patterson.

  41. twofortwo 2 years ago

    will money be returned by bookies if game is abandoned

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      twofortwo, about to be abandoned I think and yes as usual stakes will be refunded.

  42. Duncan Poundcake 2 years ago

    Well lads we won’t get 13/5 for Hearts again.:-[

  43. twofortwo 2 years ago

    thats great thanks

  44. top tip terry 2 years ago

    All that hype and its called off..Gkad in a way as i did a sneaky tenner on hearts win and bts just before the game along with other hearts bets. i’ll concentrate on my Derby-1 and Norwich v cardiff bts (5/6)my2picks of the day with AFC and Swindon just behind them in singles and a double.

  45. TheHawk 2 years ago

    Thought clowns had undersoil heating at ibrox probably not afford to put it on lol.

  46. frago 2 years ago

    Mr f what will happen to a double placed in a ladbrokes shop, first half was snooker which has won and second was hearts double chance, will I get a return of just the snooker single or wait for game to be replayed?

  47. Dublin Dave 2 years ago

    Cant believe Rangers dont have undersoil heating, thank fcuk
    it was called off, it was a lottery.

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Dublin Dave, Rangers have undersoil heating and I believe it was on. However, the pitch should have been cleared before the start.

      • Dublin Dave 2 years ago

        Mr f, just seen your post now before i posted my second post to Punting. If they have undersoil heating something is not right, that snow should have easily melted,board afraid of serious protest/ dirty tricks anybody.

        • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
          Mr Fixit 2 years ago

          Dublin Dave, Ibrox definitely has heating – it was a requirement for being in the Premier League. However, recently games in the Premier League have been called off when clubs didn’t switch it on because it’s so expensive to run. I don’t how long Rangers had theirs on but it was on when the match started.

  48. riqlme 2 years ago

    Thank f00k for that lol. Forgot to check the weather forecast pre match and put on over 2.5, which I immediately regretted after I saw the snow. :)

  49. Punting For Fun 2 years ago

    Things are financially wobbly at ibrox so undersoil heating is just a leisure they cannot afford lol

    • Dublin Dave 2 years ago

      Punting mate, i know their in dire straits but i cant believe they never invested in undersoil heating. Tonights gane will have to be replayed, it must have cost at least 50 grand to put the game on,stewards, cops, hospitality etc, wasted money, madness.

  50. Kev 2 years ago

    Single Fargo

  51. Adam Pendo 2 years ago

    The game should have been delayed. if they had waited 20/30 and cleared the pitch i think there was a chance of them playing the 90. Tough night for the ref though such a massive game and a very hostile crowd its a good job he gave the stewards/police a 5 minute warning

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      Adam, the pitch should have been cleared before it started. Stopped snowing an hour before kick-off. And the ref has to give stewards/police the warning so they can prepare the exits. That’s standard procedure.

  52. paul 2 years ago

    Just saw what would have happened in rangers match…

    IT was 1-1 and hearts missed a penalty.

    Nah…but rangers shudda cleared the pitch. Sligo rovers did before a training match on Tuesday so they cud play.

    What a weather filled betting day

    Bet on sa to get 280 to 310 in cricket at 11/4. At 48.2overs it started raining with them on 279. Sums up betting. One prob with cricket is that the weather is as big an opponent as opponent and the measly amount of information given on weather as opposed to f1 for example crazy.

    Onto arsenal v man city corners tomorrow. At least 9 id say. Will do a write up tomorrow

    Thanks whoever put writeup on that match in chile. Goals there made day profitable once more

Leave a reply

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

About MrFixitsTips  |  FAQs  |  Support  |  Contact Us  |  Gamble Aware  |  Privacy Policy  | Part of the Gambla Network ©2016 12th Man Media Ltd.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?