FEB 24: MAN CITY v BARCELONA BETTING PREVIEW

laliga_barcelonavalmeria

I’VE never been an Oasis fan but boy did Noel Gallagher talk some sense on MoTD2 on Sunday night.

Don’t think Jose Mourinho will be buying any of his records though – or any Man United fan for that matter.

I always like to hear fans’ views on their own team – celebrities or not – and two things Gallagher said convinced me to back Barcelona tonight.

We kind of knew it anyway but Gallagher reckons City are half a team without Yaya Toure and he also insisted the club was more interested in winning the Premier League than the Champions League – and that’s a different perspective from clubs such as Barcelona and Real Madrid. Bayern are the same but they’ve basically won the Bundesliga before it starts.

City were battered by Barcelona in last season’s Champions League – and I don’t expect them to dish out sweet revenge with Toure banned.

The Spanish stars won 2-0 at the Etihad 12 months ago and are massive favourites at 2-5 with McBookie to reach the last eight.

Saturday’s shock 1-0 loss at home to Malaga worries me but before that Barca had won 11 in a row and maybe had one eye on tonight.

City were at their best as they mauled Newcastle 5-0 but their visitors never turned up and you could see the difference Toure made on his return from the African Nations.

Let’s roll with it and take Barca to repeat last season’s win at a best 6-5 with McBookie and William Hill. City are 12-5 at Coral to qualify and 5-2 at William Hill and bet365 for a home win.

Lionel Messi netted at the Etihad on his last visit and is 4-1 at McBookie and Hills to break the deadlock. Luis Suarez will play in England for the first time since leaving Liverpool last summer and is 5-1 at bet365.

City’s main threat will come from Messi’s Argentina team-mate Sergio Aguero who is 6-1 at McBookie and Paddy Power to score first. There should be goals and over 2.5 goals pays 3-4 with boylesports.

Recommended Bets

Barcelona
(6-5, McBookie)

Messi to score first
(4-1, McBookie, William Hill)

Over 2.5 goals
(3-4, boylesports)

18 Comments
  1. PA 2 years ago

    MrF i can’t see City losing they need the win at home with a tough away fixture but i can see a draw. I hope they steam roll them but i can’t see it. 2-2. Away tough fixture

    • Profile photo of Mr Fixit Author
      Mr Fixit 2 years ago

      PA, depends on how they cope without Toure and they don’t usually cope that well. At their best Barca are the better team but we know they have a few problems too. Anyway, I’m off – early game of golf weather permitting and will then put up top tips. All picked out but want to check team news and some stats before posting.

  2. PA 2 years ago

    Ok MrF your reasoning is not wrong, Toure is a massive loss as you seen against Newcaslte weekend great result. When he dissapeared for his African nations City were crap. He is a Massive influence, but the team tomorrow know how big a job this is, and anything less than a draw is not acceptable simple as that. I cannot see a loss. Hope we see a great game

  3. Chris Guy 2 years ago

    Just to let you guys know if you choose to back Messi for first Goalscorer then the best place is with Boylesports, he’s available at a joint best price of 4/1 but they’ll pay out at 8/1 if he scores first within 20 mins. Pretty decent offer in my opinion. I’m also going to have a punt on Pique @ 33/1 which will pay 66/1.

  4. craigyboy 2 years ago

    But PA didn’t you lose at home against Barcelona last time out? Toure’s a massive loss but then again I wouldnt listen to Noel Gallagher. Noel Gallagher claims to be the biggest City fan going when in fact he could never be bothered to go when they were struggling and now he gets his tickets for free. Real die hard fan right there.

    • PA 2 years ago

      craigyboy yes you are correct, City sat back and let Barca attack them in that game but were unlucky conceding late on which ended City’s chances. I expect City to attack Barca a lot more in this tie from the off. GL with your bets

  5. BusinessmanNL 2 years ago

    P. Zabaleta to get a card. Got booked in both games vs Barcelona last season.

  6. Cally g 2 years ago

    I am going with Man City plus one tonight as I seen barbs play on Saturday and they were shocking and look to be lacking sometjing. I just think if barca are even the better side they will still be happy with a score draw.

  7. Baldy45 2 years ago

    No bet for me. On paper Barca should be too good, but when you look at their away record, it’s not that great. Any result is possible here tonight with Barca going thru over the 2 legs.

    Might be another bet on corners or bookings. Off to do some research.

  8. Wattie 2 years ago

    Bet 365 got their no risk in play offer on city game tonight up to £50 gotta b worth a go! My pre- match £50 is goin on over 0-5 match goals ( just to get stake back really I will cover 0-0 in runnin if needed but can’t c it) then I’m gonna av my risk free in runnin bet on barca 2-1 will b around 7/8-1 good luck guys

  9. Alex 2 years ago

    Opta stat for those thinking of backing Messi-Lionel Messi has scored (8) or assisted (2) 10 of Barcelona’s 15 goals in the Champions League this season. Top scorer in the history of the competition (75 goals), he’s netted in each of his last five games. He’s never managed it six games running. Personally I think Suarez will be fired up for this and will secretly hoping end his nightmare in Spain 😀

  10. Chy 2 years ago

    I think Man City will qualify for the QF stage before they bow out…

  11. PumaDrifter 2 years ago

    Btts for sure.

  12. Graftman247 2 years ago

    BTTS + Barca win.

    Man city controlled the game and looked great against Newcastle but im assuming they wont see half as much of the ball tonight, still fancy them for a goal though

  13. Zed 2 years ago

    Some might say City have the masterplan 2nite and do a job on Barca

  14. JamesB81 2 years ago

    CL KO stage first legs tend to be cagey and generally the away teams have a good track record. The way the draw for the last 16 is designed you see group winners playing the first leg away from home.

    Last week we saw 3 draws (and an away win). The away win was 0-2 Real Madrid at Schalke with two Ronaldo goals. Same scoreline as Man City v Barca last season with Messi on the scoresheet.

    Last year at the same stage of the CL you had 6 away wins, a draw and a home win.The year before that 3 away wins, 3 draws and 2 home wins.

    In total going back the two years plus last week there have been 3 home wins out of 19 first leg ties (last 16 CL).

    Milan 2-0 Barcelona (Barca still went through)
    Porto 1-0 Malaga (Malaga still went through)
    Olympiakos 2-0 Man Utd (Man Utd still went through)

    Add Toure being suspended and I certainly won’t be betting on a home win.

  15. JamesB81 2 years ago

    Correction
    Should have been 3 Home wins in 20 ties.

  16. toptipterry 2 years ago

    Losing yaya is a big loss..BUT sami nasri is back that’s a plus he’s a great player and has played very well last couple games since HSS been back..I’ve back him 1st goalscorer at (14/1)..&(11/2)anytime…and also David Silva anytime scorer (18/5)also done Mancty to win and BTS (5/1).I have a feeling mancty might nick it tonight.

Leave a reply

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

About MrFixitsTips  |  FAQs  |  Support  |  Contact Us  |  Gamble Aware  |  Privacy Policy  | Part of the Gambla Network ©2016 12th Man Media Ltd.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?